June 21st was the first day of summer and the weather didn’t hesitate to reach into the 80s. New York City is one of the most exciting summer spots in the entire United States. With its endless iconic sightseeing spots that still thrill old New Yorkers and tourists alike and its unique five boroughs, summer fun is going to be easy to find in NYC. We have compiled a few suggestions on how to best enjoy the daytime sun, all the fun, and the warm Big Apple nightlife this summer season.

Summer Stage
http://www.cityparksfoundation.org/summerstage/

For the N.Y.C. concert lovers out there, the long string of summer music events at Summer Stage is a great activity choice at Rumsey Playfield. Continuing on through July 7th to Sept 22nd, there are numerous free events scheduled for the public’s enjoyment. Line-ups are as diverse as New York City itself, offering everything from Jazz, to dance music parties, to folk and cultural acts.

Summer Streets
http://www.nyc.gov/html/dot/summerstreets/html/home/home.shtml

During August 5, 12, and 19th, from the hours of 7 am to 1 pm; seven miles of New York City streets are going to be opened up to the public. This free event allows Summer Streets patrons the freedom to enjoy biking, running, or just a long and pleasant walk in an enjoyable and safe open space in the heart of the city with no annoying traffic to get in the way.

The annual NYC celebration aims to promote healthy recreational activities while also highlighting the benefits of utilizing public transit in order to get to the event, which expects a return this year of over 300,000 participants. Summer Streets expands from the Brooklyn Bridge to Central Park, through to Park Avenue and its connecting streets.

A Day on Governor’s Island
https://govisland.com/

Governor’s Island is the 172-acre island park situated in the New York Harbor just around 800 yards off of the southern tip of Manhattan Island. No cars are allowed on the island which gives visitors a comfortable free reign of the open park space that houses 52 historic buildings, free arts and cultural events, and also ongoing recreational activities.

Access to the island is by ferry, which operates daily from Manhattan Island and Brooklyn. Round trip tickets are cheap at $2.00, $1 for seniors. Children under 13 years of age ride free.

N.Y.C. Summer Fairs & Food Festivals

Bryant Park Area Fair

On July 9th, the Bryant Park Area Fair will host 20+ food booths and over 50+ merchandise vendors. The fair will span on 41st Street and 6th Avenue to Broadway. Entry is free and a plethora of different interesting wares are available for every taste; from African baskets to handmade jewelry and fashion items. The Bryant Park Area Fair hours are from 10 am to 6 pm.

The 7th Annual Grace Jamaican Jerk Festival
https://jerkfestivalny.com/

On July 23rd, a monumental Caribbean food festival with roasting meat and entertainment galore is being held at Roy Wilkins Park in Queens. The 7th annual running of the huge foodie event will, of course, offer patrons tons of slowly cooked dry rubbed succulents, along with plenty of Reggae, dance, and Caribbean culture. Doors open on Sunday at 12 noon, and the tasty event ends at 9 pm.

See a Classic Film on a Rooftop
http://rooftopcinemaclub.com/new-york/

Watching the New York City sunset from a rooftop in a comfortable deck chair, while sipping a cold drink in the cool breeze, and then settling down to watch a classic motion picture – Now what could be better than that? The Rooftop Cinema Club of New York City offers their patrons just that opportunity, through July and August.

The roof party screenings are shown on two well-known N.Y.C. rooftop locations; midtown’s the YOTEL at 570 Tenth Ave, and also at East Williamsburg’s (OfficeOps) at 57 Thames Street. OfficeOps is BYO drinks, but, the YOTEL offers a full-service bar. Both offer lots of buttery popcorn as well.

For installation, maintenance, and repair, New York Gates has been one of the top gate and garage door service providers and manufacturer/ installers in New York City for over a decade. The company is based in Brooklyn, NY. Their service areas conveniently cover all five boroughs of ManhattanThe BronxBrooklynQueens, and Staten Island. NYG also offers 24/7 Emergency service. That’s something which is vital when your business is impacted by a broken rolling shutter or gate, and your lost time and business literally means lost money.

Rooftop Cinema Club programming schedule for July and August:

Sat July 1: Refinery29: American Beauty at 9:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Mon July 3: 20th Century Women at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Mon July 3: I am Not Your Negro at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Tue July 4: Cruel Intentions at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Wed July 5: Brokeback Mountain at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Wed July 5: Beauty and the Beast (2017) at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Thu July 6: Get Out at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Thu July 6: The Place Beyond the Pines at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Thu July 6: They Live at 10:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Fri July 7: Burn After Reading at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Fri July 7: Pretty Woman at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Sat July 8: As Voted by WSJ+: The Godfather at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Sun July 9: La La Land at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Mon July 10: Beauty and the Beast (2017) at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Mon July 10: Casablanca (75th anniversary) at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Tue July 11: The Edge of Seventeen at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Tue July 11: Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Wed July 12: Atonement at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Wed July 12: Hidden Figures at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Thu July 13: The Kids are All Right at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Fri July 14: Moonrise Kingdom at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Fri July 14: Logan at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Sat July 15: Manhattan at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Sat July 15: Annie Hall (40th anniversary) at 10:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Sun July 16: The Theory of Everything at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Mon July 17: Top Gun at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Mon July 17: Moonlight at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Tue July 18: Clueless at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Tue July 18: Shaun of the Dead at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Wed July 19: Get Out at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Thu July 20: Moonlight at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Thu July 20: Beginners at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Thu July 20: I Am Not Your Negro at 10:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Fri July 21: The Constant Gardener at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Fri July 21: Milk at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Sat July 22: Saturday Night Fever (40th anniversary) at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Sat July 22: Dirty Dancing (30th anniversary) at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Sun July 23: The Pianist at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Mon July 24: Logan at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Mon July 24: Dirty Dancing at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Tue July 25: Grease at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Tue July 25: Lost in Translation at 8:30 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Wed July 26: Pride and Prejudice at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Sun July 30: La La Land at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Mon July 31: Beauty and the Beast (2017) at 8:30 pm, YOTEL (Manhattan) Mon July 31: Sunset Boulevard at 8:15 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Tue Aug 1: The Handmaiden at 8:15 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Wed Aug 2: Mulholland Drive at 8:15 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Thu Aug 3: Get Out at 8:15 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Fri Aug 4: Goodfellas at 8:15 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Mon Aug 7: Roman Holiday at 8:15 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Tue Aug 8: Amelie at 8:15 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Wed Aug 9: Almost Famous at 8:15 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Thu Aug 10: Ferris Bueller’s Day Off at 8:15 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Fri Aug 11: Dirty Dancing at 8:15 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Mon Aug 14: Donnie Darko 4k Restoration 15th anniversary edition at 8 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Tue Aug 15: Moonlight at 8 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Wed Aug 16: La La Land at 8 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Thu Aug 17: Top Gun at 8 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Fri Aug 18: The Godfather (45th anniversary) at 8 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Mon Aug 21: American Psycho at 8 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Tue Aug 22: Breakfast at Tiffanys at 8 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Wed Aug 23: The French Connection at 8 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Thu Aug 24: Taxi Driver at 8 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Fri Aug 25: Annie Hall (40th anniversary) at 8 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Mon Aug 28: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story at 8 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn) Tue Aug 29: Beauty and the Beast at 8 pm, OfficeOps (Brooklyn)